ASIAN Games 2014

17th asian games

The ASIAN games 2014 is also called 17th ASIAD happened in Incheon, a city of South Korea between September 19 to October 4, 2014. The motto of the games was “Diversity Shines Here”. In the final medal tally, China stood first followed by South Korea at second place and Japan at third.

Some facts of the 17th Asian games were:

  • Host City: Incheon, South Korea
  • Motto: Diversity Shines Here
  • Number of Participating Nations: 45
  • Number of Athletes participated: 9,501 (5,823 men, 3,678 women)
  • Opening ceremony: September 19, 2014
  • Closing ceremony: October 4, 2014
  • Number of Events: 439 events in 36 sports
  • Torch lighter: Lee Young-ae


mascot 17th asian games

Three Harbour Seal siblings Barame, Chumuro and Vichuan was the official mascot of the games. The three seals Barame, Chumuro and Vichuan meaning wind, dance and light in Korean language.

India at ASIAN Games

Sardar Singh, the captain of India’s hockey team was flag bearer of India in the games. After 16 years India won gold in men’s hockey tournament and earned the direct place to the 2016 Summer Olympics going to take place in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. India ended the campaign in eighth position with total of 57 medals (11 gold, 10 silver and 36-bronze). In 2010 ASIAN games at Delhi, India won 65 medals (14 gold, 17 silver and 34 bronze) and stood at 6th position. Nevertheless there were moments to cheer in this edition.

Medals tally

Medal Name Sport Event
 Gold Jitu Rai Shooting Men’s 50 metre pistol
 Gold Rajat Chauhan
Sandeep Kumar
Abhishek Verma
Archery Men’s team compound
 Gold Saurav Ghosal
Mahesh Mangaonkar
Harinder Pal Sandhu
Kush Kumar
Squash Men’s team
 Gold Yogeshwar Dutt Wrestling Men’s freestyle 65 kg
 Gold Seema Punia Athletics Women’s discus throw
 Gold Sania Mirza
Saketh Myneni
Tennis Mixed doubles
 Gold Mary Kom Boxing Women’s 51 kg
 Gold Men’s hockey team Field hockey Men
 Gold Priyanka Pawar
Tintu Luka
Mandeep Kaur
M. R. Poovamma
Athletics Women’s 4 x 400 metres relay
 Gold Women’s kabaddi team Kabaddi Women
 Gold Men’s kabaddi team Kabaddi Men
 Silver Saurav Ghosal Squash Men’s singles
 Silver Pemba Tamang
Vijay Kumar
Gurpreet Singh
Shooting Men’s 25 metre center fire pistol team
 Silver Dipika Pallikal
Joshna Chinappa
Anaka Alankamony
Squash Women’s team
 Silver Abhishek Verma Archery Men’s individual compound
 Silver Khushbir Kaur Athletics Women’s 20 kilometres walk
 Silver Manju Bala Athletics Women’s hammer throw
 Silver Sanam Singh
Saketh Myneni
Tennis Men’s doubles
 Silver Bajrang Kumar Wrestling Men’s freestyle 61 kg
 Silver Vikas Gowda Athletics Men’s discus throw
 Silver Tintu Luka Athletics Women’s 800 metres
 Bronze Shweta Chaudhary Shooting Women’s 10 metre air pistol
 Bronze Jitu Rai
Samaresh Jung
Prakash Nanjappa
Shooting Men’s 10 metre air pistol team
 Bronze Saina Nehwal
P. V. Sindhu
P. C. Thulasi
Pradnya Gadre
N. Siki Reddy
Ashwini Ponnappa
Badminton Women’s team
 Bronze Rahi Sarnobat
Anisa Sayyed
Heena Sidhu
Shooting Women’s 25 metre pistol team
 Bronze Dipika Pallikal Squash Women’s singles
 Bronze Abhinav Bindra
Ravi Kumar
Sanjeev Rajput
Shooting Men’s 10 metre air rifle team
 Bronze Abhinav Bindra Shooting Men’s 10 metre air rifle
 Bronze Sanathoi Devi Yumnam Wushu Women’s sanda 52 kg
 Bronze Narender Grewal Wushu Men’s sanda 60 kg
 Bronze Dushyant Chauhan Rowing Men’s lightweight single sculls
 Bronze Sawarn Singh Rowing Men’s single sculls
 Bronze Kapil Sharma
Ranjit Singh
Bajrang Lal Takhar
Robin Panachithanathu Ulahannan
Sawan Kumar Kalkal
Mohammad Azad
Maninder Singh
Davinder Singh
Mohammed Ahmed
Rowing Men’s coxed eight
 Bronze Shagun Chowdhary
Shreyasi Singh
Varsha Varman
Shooting Women’s double trap team
 Bronze Sandeep Sejwal Swimming Men’s 50 metre breaststroke
 Bronze Trisha Deb
Purvasha Shende
Jyothi Surekha Vennam
Archery Women’s team compound
 Bronze Chain Singh Shooting Men’s 50 metre rifle three positions
 Bronze Trisha Deb Archery Women’s individual compound
 Bronze Vinesh Phogat Wrestling Women’s freestyle 48 kg
 Bronze Geetika Jakhar Wrestling Women’s freestyle 63 kg
 Bronze Lalita Babar Athletics Women’s 3000 metres steeplechase
 Bronze Yuki Bhambri Tennis Men’s singles
 Bronze Yuki Bhambri
Divij Sharan
Tennis Men’s doubles
 Bronze Sania Mirza
Prarthana Thombare
Tennis Women’s doubles
 Bronze M. R. Poovamma Athletics Women’s 400 metres
 Bronze Rajiv Arokia Athletics Men’s 400 metres
 Bronze O. P. Jaisha Athletics Women’s 1500 metres
 Bronze Narsingh Pancham Yadav Wrestling Men’s freestyle 74 kg
 Bronze Naveen Kumar Athletics Men’s 3000 metres steeplechase
 Bronze Laishram Sarita Devi Boxing Women’s 60 kg
 Bronze Pooja Rani Boxing Women’s 75 kg
 Bronze Varsha Gautham
Aishwarya Nedunchezhiyan
Sailing Women’s two person dinghy
 Bronze Women’s hockey team Field hockey Women
 Bronze Annu Rani Athletics Women’s javelin throw
 Bronze Satish Kumar Boxing Men’s +91 kg
 Bronze Vikas Krishan Yadav Boxing Men’s 75 kg
 Bronze Inderjeet Singh Athletics Men’s shot put


Countries medal tally