Forests in India

Depending upon the temperature and rainfall it receives, the forests in India are of following types:

Tropical Evergreen Forests

These forests are also called tropical rain forests. These regions are generally hot and receive heavy rainfall (more than 200 cm) throughout the year. These forests are near to equator and close to tropic.

Tropical evergreen forests in India:  These forests are found in:

  • Western and eastern slopes of Western ghat states such as Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Karnataka and Maharashtra.
  • Eastern states such as West Bengal, Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Tripura.
  • Andaman and Nicobar islands.

Trees: Rosewood, Mahogany, ebony, bamboo and reeds.

Tropical Deciduous Forests

These forests are also called Monsoon forests. These forests dominate the most part of India. These regions experience seasonal rainfall. Trees shed their leaves to prevent evaporation in dry season.

These forests are of divided into two categories:

  • Moist deciduous forests
  • Dry deciduous forests

Tropical deciduous forests in India:

  • Moist deciduous forests: These forests are found in Shiwalik foothills, Bhabar, Tarai, Chhota Nagpur Plateau, the North-eastern Deccan Plateau and North-south strip to the east of the Western Ghats.
  • Dry deciduous forests: These forests are found in the central India.

Trees: Sal, teak, neem and sheesham.