Daily GK Potion – 10th January 2015

  1. Pravasi Bharatiya Divas concludes, 15 NRIs awarded
    • The three-day Pravasi Bharatiya Divas concluded on Friday at Mahatma Mandir in Gandhinagar in the presence of Vice President Mohammad Hamid Ansari.
    • Vice President Mohammad Hamid Ansari presented ‘Pravasi Bharatiya Samman’ awards to 15 members of the Indian diaspora.
    • The recipients were Guyana President Donald Rabindernauth Ramaotar, Mala Mehta, Dr Rajaram Sanjaya, Kanwaljit Singh Bakhshi, Rajmal Parakh, Duraikannu Karunakaran, Essop Goolam Pahad, Shah Bharatkumar Jayantilal, Ashraf Palarkunnummal, Mahendra Nanji Mehta, Professor Nathu Ram Puri, Satyanarayn Nadella, Dr Lulla Kamlesh and Dr Nandini Tandon. Nadella, Indian-origin CEO of Microsoft was not present to receive the award.
  2. Sindhushree Khullar Appointed NITI Aayog’s CEO

    • Sindhushree Khullar was today appointed as Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the newly-formed NITI Aayog, which has replaced the Planning Commission.
    • Mr Khullar was Secretary in the erstwhile Planning Commission.
    • He has been appointed on contract basis for a period of one year from January 1, an order issued by the Department of Personnel and Training.
    • Economist Arvind Panagariya has been appointed as the first Vice Chairman of the NITI Aayog.
  3. United Nations to host new Libya peace talks in Geneva next week
    • The United Nations announced a new round of peace talks between Libya’s warring factions in Geneva next week, as the European Union warned the country was at a “crucial juncture”.
    • It said the talks were aimed at reaching an agreement on the formation of a unity government and to create “a stable environment” for the adoption of a new permanent constitution.
  4. Rajiv Mehta appointed new DGP of Meghalaya
    • Senior IPS officer Rajiv Mehta has been appointed as the new Director General of Police in Meghalaya.
    • He is currently serving as the Director General of Narcotics Control Bureau (NCB) in Delhi.
    • He replaces P.J.P. Hanaman who retired on December 31 and will take charge from acting DGP S.K. Jain.