Daily GK Potion – 27th May 2015

Gromo Referal
  1. NASSCOM launches cybersecurity task force
    • National Association of Software and Services Companies (NASSCOM) and Data Security Council of India have launched NASSCOM Cyber Security Task Force.
    • According to a statement from the trade body, the task force aims to build India as a global hub for providing cyber security solutions, developing cyber security R&D plan and develop a skilled workforce of cyber security experts.
    • The task force members will include industry leaders across IT, BPM and internet, heads of user organizations like banks and telcos as well as representatives from the government and academia.
    • Rajendra Pawar, Chairman, NIIT will chair this task force. The task force over a 12 week period will identify the key priorities and build the detailed action plan for the sector.
  2. HP Sets Up Satellite Tracking System to Check Forest Fires
    • A satellite tracking system has been set up to check forest fires during summers in Himachal Pradesh.
    • Under the satellite tracking system, continuous vigil was being kept on the forests to ensure that the fire fighting staff reached the spot immediately on receiving information.
  3. Trevor Bayliss appointed England cricket team’s head coach
    • Australian Trevor Bayliss has been appointed as the new head coach of England, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) announced.
    • The 52-year-old former Sri Lanka coach succeeds the sacked Peter Moores, having been preferred to his compatriot Jason Gillespie, the Yorkshire coach, who was the initial favourite for the job.
  4. Sangakkara named CEAT International Cricketer of the Year, Rahane is Indian Cricketer of the Year
    • Classy middle order batsman Ajinkya Rahane has won the CEAT Indian Cricketer of the Year award.
    • Former Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara clinched the International Cricketer of the Year honour.
    • Former India captain Kapil Dev, who led the country to the first of two World Cup titles in 1983, was conferred with the International Lifetime Achievement Award at the 19th edition of the awards.
    • International Lifetime Achievement Award – Kapil Dev
    • International Cricketer of the Year – Kumar Sangakkara
    • Indian Cricketer of the Year –Ajinkya Rahane
    • International Batsman of the Year – Hashim Amla
    • International Bowler of the Year – Rangana Herath
    • T20 Player of the Year – Dwayne Bravo
    • Popular Choice Award – Kieron Pollard
    • Special Performance of the Year Award – Rohit Sharma
    • Domestic Cricketer of the Year – R Vinay Kumar
    • Young Player of the Year – Deepak Hooda
  5. FM Arun Jaitley announces setting up of NIIF
    • Finance minister Arun Jaitley had announced the setting up of the National Investment and Infrastructure Fund(NIIF) in the Union Budget.
    • The National Investment and Infrastructure Fund is likely to have an initial corpus of less than Rs 20,000 crore.
    • Infact, we pick up from our sources that the initial capital could be approximately between Rs 5,000 crore and Rs 10,000 crore.
  6. ANZ Bank to open 2 India branches by early 2016
    • In a bid to widen its presence in India, Australia and New Zealand Banking group (ANZ) on Monday said that it will open its first rural branch in Bengaluru by early next year.
    • The Gurgaon branch will open in next few months and outer Bengaluru branch will open in early 2016.
    • Currently, the bank has one branch in Mumbai, which was opened in 2011. Earlier, it owned British bank Grindlays before selling it to Standard Chartered in 2000.

Read next : Daily GK Potion – 28th and 29th May 2015 ››

Read previous: « Daily GK Potion – 25th and 26th May 2015

« Back to current affairs