What is G20 – Members, Summit, Recent News on G20

G20G20 is a forum of leading world’s major Economies. It was conceived at G7 finance ministers and central governors meeting in 1999. It neither has a headquarters nor any staff. It focuses on issues of global importance. Some of the topics which were focused in the past are global economy, financial markets, tax & fiscal policy, trade, agriculture, jobs, energy, fight against corruption, 2030 Sustainable Development Agenda etc. It covers 85% Global Economic Output, 66% World Population, 75% International Trade and 80% Global Investment.

Who are members of G20?

It consists of nineteen countries and European Union. These countries are:

  1. Argentina
  2. Australia
  3. Brazil
  4. Canada
  5. China
  6. Germany
  7. France
  8. India
  9. Indonesia
  10. Italy
  11. Japan
  12. Mexico
  13. Russia
  14. Saudi Arabia
  15. South Africa
  16. South Korea
  17. Turkey
  18. UK
  19. USA

Spain is permanently invited to these meetings.

Yearly Agenda

  • Meetings of ministers, foreign ministry, central bank governors, world leaders
  • Each year a leader summit is attended by heads of state/government where they issue joint declaration on the policy formed by G20 throughout the year.
  • Each year a new country takes presidency. It rotates between the nineteen members of the group.

Recent G20 Summit Venues

  • 2017 – Hamburg, Germany
  • 2018 – Argentina
  • 2019 – Japan
  • 2020 – Saudi Arabia

Groups of G20 Countries

The G20 countries are divided into five groups:

  • Group 1: Australia, Canada, United States, Saudi Arabia
  • Group 2: India, Russia, South Africa, Turkey
  • Group 3: Argentina, Brazil, Mexico
  • Group 4: France, Germany, Italy, UK
  • Group 5: China, Indonesia, Japan, South Korea

The presidency is rotated between these groups.

G20 in News

  • The Summit of the G20 Heads of State and Government will be held in Rome on October 30th and 31st, 2021.

Download this article as PDF

We hope you liked this article. Here are some useful articles for you to read next:

Click to go to RBI Grade B Preparation Page